Medium Large

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Posted in 1 by cesco7 on February 24, 2009

medlarge826

Today’s Note/Plea/Desperate Cry from the Cartoonist:
la-times-sally
First, thank you very much to all the people who have written to the Los Angeles Times and voiced their opinions about the paper’s decision to cut Sally Forth. It has been extremely heartening for me to read such wonderful words and see how much the strip means to so many people. I truly do thank you with all my heart.

Second, I want to thank the authors of the blog Franklin Avenue for penning such a supportive and encouraging response to “L.A. Gate” (phrase patent-pending) with The Los Angeles Times’ “Sally Forth” Problem. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that they all-too-kindly (and incorrectly) refer to me as “hip,” “young” and a “comedian.”

Thank you all for your support. Please stay tuned as I try to foment an actual revolution that storms the offices of the L.A. Times demanding swift retraction or violent retribution, only for the paper to cede both pages of its comic section to The Yellow Kid.

UPDATE: And a special shout-out to a very special friend for her post Disgruntled L.A. Times Readers Will Cut You.

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Me said, on February 24, 2009 at 2:08 am

    And for extra bonus points, you could read “No L.A. times” as “NOLA times” and relive Katrina!

  2. Michael Ezra said, on February 24, 2009 at 2:21 am

    “Dear Comics Editor, L.A. Times:

    “Keep Sally Forth or we’lll sabotage your paper with a double-page spread of that cartoon comparing Obama to the shot chimpanzee, with a caption claiming the New York Post got the idea from you!”

  3. andy said, on February 24, 2009 at 2:40 am

    You know what would save the strip? Mary Worth cameo. Think about it …

  4. Pirk said, on February 24, 2009 at 10:04 am

    it’s as if the newspapers WANT to fail . . why don’t they get rid of Non Sequitor. Or Family Circus. Or Dennis the Menace. Something unfunny

  5. Larry McAwful said, on February 24, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I don’t know the history behind Greg Howard giving up the strip and you guys taking it over, but I remember the strip in those old days, and it’s much better now. Maybe it’s because in another seven months I’ll be Ted Forth’s age, and like Ted a little while ago, my job is precarious and I’m not 100% sure what it is, myself.

    Anyway, I gave Sally Forth a second look because of Medium Large. I admit it. I’ve found that Sally Forth has heart, and that it really is a good strip. And though I’ve never even been to California, I think I’ll have to write a jeremiad to the L.A. Times about this outrage. In a world where the, like, twentieth guy to write Blondie and Gasoline Alley still gets his strip carried in most comics sections, why can’t we keep the more topical ones going?

    Bill Amend and Stephan Pastis are right: most of these legacy strips need to clear out. No syndicate would pick up Beetle Bailey or Crock these days; it’s more about a familiar brand than anything else.

  6. Brian said, on February 24, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Am I the only one who finds it really funny that in that link the LA Times lists as justification for introducing these new strips a desire to “keep the comics page fresh and relevant,” yet further down the page the comics editor is quoted as saying Peanuts is the most popular comic they run, despite the obvious drawback that Charles Schultz has been dead for 9 years?

    Between Peanuts being their most popular strip and a number of people being quite upset that they’re dropping the “reruns” of FOOB, not to mention the host of legacy strips they run that would no doubt bring much outcry and hand-wringing if they were dropped, exactly where did the LA Times get the notion that the majority of their regular comics page readers want their comics to be “fresh and relevant”? How can a paper still run Blondie, drop Sally Forth, and still say they want their comics page to be “fresh and relevant” with any real conviction?

  7. Howabominable (aka Lindsey ^_^) said, on February 24, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    I remember reading the strip Sally Forth in the 90′s and thinking, “Man, what a piece of crap. Not funny at all.” So when I started reading daily comics a couple of years ago, SF was definitely not on my list. However, The Comics Curmudgeon convinced me to give it a second chance, and I’m glad I did. Now it’s one of my favorite strips. There are a lot of crappy strips in my local daily newspaper, and SF is one of the few good ones.

  8. ian in hamburg said, on February 24, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    If I were an LA Times reader, I’d be in favour of tanking Sally Forth if Medium Large appeared in it place.

  9. ian in hamburg said, on February 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    If I were an LA Times reader, I’d be in favour of tanking Sally Forth if Medium Large appeared in its place.

  10. ian in hamburg said, on February 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    There’s an echo around here.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 509 other followers

