Medium Large

Sally Forth as Written by a Japanese School Girl

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on May 6, 2011

Humor is international, in that sometimes it takes someone several continents away with a preliminary grasp of English to make something truly brilliant.

To wit, I received the following email from one of the contributors at Something Awful Forums:

“I’m Sarah…I’d been posting newspaper comic strips from the states as rewritten by my junior high school students. I teach English in Japan. I’d been considering sending a few of them off to the original writers and artists but never got around to it. Your appreciation for robot monkey-inserts made me regret it, so I wanted to at least get Sally Forth’s re-imagination to you, as it was coincidentally one of the better ones. For the project I took about a week of strips from various comics, erased the dialogue and handed them out to my class of 20 15-year-olds to do as they wished. Sally Forth was selected and rewritten by a happy girl named Makoto. I hope you find it as amusing as I certainly did.”

And so, with that in mind, here’s Japan’s better answer to Sally Forth, which would be no doubt called Ted Forth: Heartless Bastard.

Other Links:
Pet Reflections
Why Cats Are Not Doctors
Excerpts from “I Could Pee on This” and Other Poems by Cats
More Upcoming Coffee Table Books
Greeting Cards Best Left Unsent

Follow on Twitter @fmarciuliano
Follow on Facebook

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jack Elam said, on May 6, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    Ted Forth is a dick.

  2. yellojkt said, on May 6, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Next week: Sally and Ted try to patch things up at a Star Wars themed love hotel.

  3. Harold said, on May 6, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    I want to strike him later.

  4. Stephen said, on May 6, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Wow! That is truly bizarre, in a wonderful sort of way.

  5. Gen said, on May 6, 2011 at 5:13 pm

    すごい!

  6. Lavalady said, on May 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    That is the best thing I have seen all week. All hail Makoto!

  7. Risha said, on May 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I think she has a future in comic strips!

  8. John S. said, on May 6, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    I wonder if she was named after Sailor Jupiter from the Sailor Moon show…

  9. SonnyDrysdale said, on May 6, 2011 at 10:07 pm

    “That’s an unreasonable demand!”

    Hear hear! Can that be Ted’s new catchphrase?

  10. […] I teach English in Japan . I’d been considering sending a few of them off to the original writers and artists but never got around to it. Your appreciation for robot monkey-inserts made me regret it, so I wanted to at least get Sally … Read more here: Sally Forth as Written by a Japanese School Girl « Medium Large […]

  11. turquoisecow said, on May 7, 2011 at 9:50 am

    These are awesome. “Yoshio has a wife! It’s surprise!”

    • blueberry said, on May 9, 2011 at 11:29 am

      I think it actually says “It’s surprisey!” which is oh, so awesome.

  12. mollificent said, on May 7, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Brilliant!

  13. Ben Ostrowsky said, on May 7, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    You should ask her to do more of these and save them as a buffer to be run in case of illness. The only danger is that the main continuity would lose popularity for not being WTF enough.

    • Ben Ostrowsky said, on May 7, 2011 at 3:43 pm

      …and that’s not so bad, because then you could indulge in your own delightful brand of Sally Forth WTFery.

  14. David Learn said, on May 7, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I am in awe. I’ve never had much interest in manga and anime, but a few more of these could persuade me to change my mind.

    And as an added bonus, you now have a backup writer any time you need a vacation.

  15. Mollyscribbles said, on May 7, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Lettering needs work, but the script is perfect. Your job is now at risk.

  16. Ronit said, on May 8, 2011 at 2:48 am

    This is absolutely wonderful.

  17. Daniel said, on May 9, 2011 at 11:15 pm

    And it still makes more sense than Gil Thorp!


Leave a comment