Medium Large

Sally Forth and the Ziggy Christmas Ornaments

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on December 1, 2015

SF December 1 2015Back in the late 70’s and early 80’s my brother, my mom and I were quite the Ziggy fans (I was quite the fan of most comics back then, devouring every strip in the New York Daily News Sunday supplement from Little Orphan Annie to Peanuts to Dick Tracy to such now-forgotten selections as Dondi, Motley’s Crew and Herman). When my mom saw the above ornament in our local supermarket, she not only knew it was the ideal addition to our tree but the start of a family tradition (rightfully believing that the year “1982” indicated this ornament was the first of an annual release). My mom bought two variations, one for Marcello and one for me, and promised to buy two new ones every year from then on out. Alas, although my mom looked high and low come 1983, there was no “second in the series” to be found, bringing to a quiet yet swift end what was hoped to be an ongoing, multigenrational family collection. (And for those of you who know me, have done the math, and realize exactly what age I was when this happened, you will also remember that I was a, uh, special kind of kid).

But here they are in the flesh (well, satin):Ziggy Ornaments 720

And in case you’re wondering, here is the Ren & Stimpy ornament (currently on my tree):Ren Stimpy Ornament 2012 copy

Leave a Reply

