Medium Large

Judge Parker: Winning Over Today’s Youth with 70’s Music References

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on August 25, 2016

JP August 25 2016
On the other hand, I got to say “butt-dialed,” a curse word, and maybe kill five teens (and a trucker) in my first four days, so it’s been a good week. Or my last week.

NOTE: Because daily strip coloring is outsourced and not done by the artist, mistakes are sometimes made. So readers should know that today’s strip is supposed to take place at NIGHT, not two in the afternoon.

SECOND NOTE: The rhythm of the dialogue is a vestige of writing Sally Forth for 19 years. I love writing Sally Forth. I love the tone of that strip. (I’m not articulating my arm to pat my own back, I just write a strip I would want to read and hope others think the same or phrase their cutting, insightful insults with happy emojis.) But this is a different comic with its own voice. I would chalk today’s Judge Parker comic to being a stumble to getting on the right path…that goes right through the guard rails.

THIRD NOTE: Because some have wondered, the songs were chosen for their ungodly running times (which, when combined, will actually still play when all existence reaches its conclusion and then starts all over again) and for no reason but what popped in my head at the moment, they both involve being in a car late at night. That said, those are not songs Neddy would mention. Again, the last of Ted in this strip, minus him in the background gawking at any possible wreckage.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cat Wisdom 101 (@catwisdom101) said, on August 25, 2016 at 1:27 pm

    The backstory is bonus. Suddenly, all I hear are ’80s songs on the radio like Tears For Fears.

Leave a Reply

