Medium Large

Sally Forth Comic Con: Starlee Vs. Carina

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on July 10, 2018

Every hero has their nemesis. Jem and the Holograms had The Misfits. G.I. Joe had Cobra Command. And as Lisa wisely pointed out…

And so it is with Starlee and the Moonbeams and their evil counterparts, Carina and the Darkstars, the two intergalactic warrior bands engaged in a never-ending clash across the stars and in front of Lonely Sun God Ra-Ra as they each vie for the coveted Kavli Music Video Genius Grant.

Today’s strip is also the first appearance of Duncan’s mom, Marilynn, an aforementioned huge Starlee and the Moonbeams fan who favors Carina’s Darkstars since they, like the Misfits, always had the better songs. Naturally Sally and Marilynn are just staying in character and will soon be fast friends because, well, the Forths really need some friends. Let’s give everyone this one.

By the way, once again someone has written to inform me that Starlee and the Moonbeams was not a real cartoon series in the 1980s. And once again I am shocked—Shocked!—that something I made up didn’t suddenly, retroactively exist. I guess that’s yet another power I don’t possess. I can catch a stack of quarters from off my elbow, though. I…I can do that…sniff…

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bill said, on July 10, 2018 at 7:30 pm

    This was spit-take material this morning (something I found out the hard way). Still smiling 12 hours later. Well done!

  2. Naked Bunny with a Whip said, on July 10, 2018 at 9:07 pm

    So it was a 70s cartoon? *puzzled face*

  3. carlfink said, on July 10, 2018 at 10:32 pm

    By the way, Ces: Medium Large Guy is a fictional pantomime character from a webcomic that faded out of existence when the creator got two big-money gigs. Sorry to burst your bubble.

  4. Tina Wood said, on July 11, 2018 at 3:00 am

    I’m really enjoying Duncan and his family so far. Glad you brought them into the strip.

  5. John Small Berries said, on July 11, 2018 at 2:36 pm

    So… did these people who seem unclear on the concept of fiction also write to you last year to inform you that there was no such place as Tanaka Kaiju World?


Leave a comment