Medium Large

My First Week of “Sally Forth”: Day Six

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on March 10, 2012

To start from the beginning please go to Day One.
Saturday, January 3, 1998

And so with one panel left to go in the week, Ted Forth finally makes a pop culture reference. Granted a Baby Boomer reference as opposed to one of his current-day Gen X flashbacks (“I saw this episode of Punky Brewster where this kid could simply not find a pair of matching socks”), but a pop culture reference nonetheless.

And then comes Sally’s punchline.

As I mentioned earlier in the week, in the beginning the edict was that Sally always had the last say, always had the final joke. After all, the strip had Sally’s name as did most likely the deed to the house, given Ted’s rather indifferent, immature attitude to professional and financial concerns. But “Greenland”? “Greenland”? What the hell kind of closer is that?! In truth, I always like it when there can be two funny (or at least supposedly funny) lines at the end of a strip. It helps prevent the comic from having the ba-dum-dum rhythm of a Dixie Riddles Cup. I also alway liked how in such strips as Doonsebury, the punchline is almost always followed by a counterpoint, a confirmation or an additional closing insight. It makes it feel as if the characters are having an actual dialogue, are duplicating the give-and-take of normal conversation, as opposed to the set-up/knock-down of a joke broadly told on stage.

Still, unlike the above strip I’d rather not end this week of flashbacks on a weak note. Instead, I’d like to say how much I greatly, dearly appreciate each and every one of you who read this week and, more importantly, read Sally Forth. I’m not oblivious to the fact that the comic is nowhere near the bleeding edge of cool and that Sally Forth has a lot of vehement critics–some of who may have actually read the strip–who think that this is the very reason God smites man. But I sincerely love doing the comic. The characters now feel like my family rather than someone else’s relatives I’ve been entertaining all these years. And a tremendous part of that is the feedback I get from all of you. Like I said before, I believe that once a comic is printed it belongs as much to the reader as the creator. That’s why I never take any negative remarks as a personal slight nor do I assume every positive statement is proof that I know what the hell I’m doing. Instead each is a valid opinion for that person and each allows me to have that quite rare and remarkably fortunate chance to have an ongoing dialogue every single day with people who love the strip, people who hate the strip, and people who think it’s called Mary Worth. I consider myself very, very lucky to have such an opportunity and I thank each and every one of you.

So let’s wrap this entire look back on the most positive, triumphant image I can think of–Ted Forth about to make out with a softball trophy.

Thank you!

Follow on Twitter @fmarciuliano
Follow on Facebook

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Julie said, on March 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    This was a very cool week of posts, thanks for writing them up! I don’t remember having Sally Forth in the paper when I was a kid and an obsessive comics reader; but I do distinctly remember being at my parents’ house a few years ago and reading the comics in their paper and saying, “Wow, Sally Forth is a lot funnier than I always assumed it would be.” Seriously, thank you for the strip and for this series of behind-the-scenes posts.

  2. Lila Phillips said, on March 10, 2012 at 3:49 pm

    Really interesting! More of these if you want. Thanks!

  3. Rudy Lupinski said, on March 10, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    I enjoyed this and all your posts. It’s too bad our local newspaper only carries the Sunday edition of Sally Forth, but I usually catch up online.

    I was noticing how the characters in the earlier strip were drawn with broad shoulders like linebackers or Joan Crawford. When did that change?

  4. John Small Berries said, on March 10, 2012 at 5:12 pm

    Sally Forth has been a lot more enjoyable since you decided to give it your own voice instead of simply mimicking someone else’s.

    I’ll admit I find the alternate-universe Sally Forth strips you post here even funnier, but I realize the editors would never let you get away with that in the newspaper – and that a large part of the reason they’re so amusing is because they’re such a departure from the established characters.

  5. spanghew said, on March 10, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    I think what you’ve done with the pre-existing characters, and the new characters you’ve introduced over the years, is take a rather lame, one-dimensional comic with a cringeworthy punning name (it’s okay – so’s “The Beatles”) and make it into one of the better, funnier comics around. Because of that you’re able to simultaneously work the punchline-based, single-episode older-style strips together with longer story arcs in a way that allows both types of narrative to work together. Really, you deserve congratulations.

  6. Usual John said, on March 10, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    This has been fascinating. I loved it, both the strips and your commentary. It’s amazing how funny you managed to be from the very first week, even under some rather severe constraints.

    In spite of your concerns about some of the dialogue, the lines you singled out were actually quite good. The “your own daughter” line was particularly effective, and the “Greenland” line really worked quite well too. The only line that really failed was Ted’s “juicy gossip” line, since it set us up for juicy gossip that apparently did not exist (yes, the Klurns turned out to be jerks, but that apparently was a surprise to Sally).

  7. Craig aka oneswellfoop said, on March 11, 2012 at 1:20 am

    I really enjoy what you’ve done with the Sally Forth strip (like a This Old House project, but much more subtle). I’ve also followed Medium Large since the first run (and blogged about it at my Funny Paperless blog, now defunct but the archives live on at a perpetually-under-construction site: http://tooned.in/11/happy-media-and-a-silly-sally/ )

    Anyway, I really enjoyed both your ‘under the hood’ looks at the comic process (even as you point out what a learning process it was for you in the early stages), AND the “if I could go full batsh*t crazy/alternate universe Sally Forth”.

    I did have a thought I wanted to share with you. Wouldn’t it be cool if you could do one of those TED talks about Ted Forth? (Just because it’d make me giggle like a schoolgirl)

  8. Stephen said, on March 11, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Thank you for Sally Forth. There are many intellectual comic writers, but they can so often be pigeon-holed into less-than work (“Garfield” anyone?).

    I have always enjoyed Sally Forth and I have also enjoyed medium large.

    Thanks very much for entertaining me (for free! – well, I’m sure you get paid, but I don’t seem to pay out very much on my end).

  9. Ronit said, on March 12, 2012 at 1:25 am

    Thanks for writing this series of posts, Ces

  10. meekrat13 said, on March 13, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Thank you for making “Sally Forth” something I actually like to read.

  11. Joseph Nebus said, on March 14, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    I’ve quite appreciated this series of posts. It’s reliably interesting to see how a comic strip gets made, but I don’t remember seeing a similar peek at the renovation and revitalization of a strip before. Sally Forth is also at least the modern poster hold for the idea that new artists (writing and drawing) can be a quite good thing for a comic strip.

  12. Gerald Giap said, on March 16, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    Undoubtedly too much unpaid work, but I so enjoyed your first week of Sally Forth that I wish you could do what Jimmy Johnson does with his old strips.

    When I read Jimmy Johnson’s Arlo & Janice I go in through http://arloandjanis.com/ where I can get an old Arlo & Janice then click the button below the strip to go to the current Arlo & Janice.


Leave a comment