Medium Large

You Are Toast

Posted in Uncategorized by cesco7 on April 29, 2018

For the past few years the characters of Sally Forth have enjoyed “Powdered Toast Crunch” cereal in a nod to the cartoon series Ren and Stimpy. Exactly one month ago two brave women revealed to Buzzfeed that the creator of that series, John Kricfalusi, had sexually harassed them while they were underaged and engaged in a sexual relationship with one of them when she was 16.

Today marks the end of that cereal appearance and any reference to Kricfalusi’s work in our comic. To anyone who disagrees with our decision, you can draw attention to his cartoons in your own damn strip. That is not what will be happening here.

NOTE: I just realized I wrote “Stimpy” as “Stmipy.” Let’s chalk that up to something subconscious and not the perhaps more obvious “learn to type.”

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carl said, on April 29, 2018 at 11:23 am

    Fine with me, Ces! There are lots of other crazy cereals and breakfast foods that would lend wel to the general insanity of the Forth’s world! Get nutty, dude!

    • cesco7 said, on April 29, 2018 at 11:34 am

      Ted is going to make his own cereal called “Ted O’s.” It will be repurposed “C-3PO’s” with some random T’s from Alpha Bits thrown in when Ted realizes crunchy figure 8’s have nothing to do with his name. It will not be a success.

  2. Naked Bunny with a Whip said, on April 29, 2018 at 12:45 pm

    Yikes.

  3. Naked Bunny with a Whip said, on April 29, 2018 at 12:46 pm

    Don’t worry, Hil. Once you’re an adult, you can eat cake for breakfast and Fruit Luips for supper as often as you like.

  4. Zach said, on April 30, 2018 at 6:46 pm

    John K’s been dead to me since I heard how he was so abusive while working on Ren and Stimpy that it gave Billy West flashbacks to his abusive father.

  5. Charles Brubaker said, on May 1, 2018 at 11:22 am

    I’ve corresponded with people who worked with the Ren and Stimpy creator. It was very, very rare for them to say anything positive about the man.

    I can think of at least 3 people who knowingly enabled his behavior (one of them still works in animation today). They should be ashamed of themselves.

  6. Mollyscribbles said, on May 4, 2018 at 1:02 am

    I never really got into Ren and Stimpy back in the day, so I have no emotional investment in this.

    . . . if there’s a painful revelation from behind the scenes of Gargoyles I’ll probably cry though.

  7. Allyson said, on June 14, 2018 at 1:29 am

    I’m late to the party here, but I say good for you, Ces, and good riddance. Now if I could only get that fucking “Log” song out of my head.


Leave a comment